top of page
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Peralta

Racism in High Fashion

Should we continue to support this?



Gucci's Balaclava Knit Top


It was the beginning of Black History Month when #Gucci decided it was appropriate to release their "Balaclava Knit Top." The sweater became controversial simply because it resembles Blackface (theatrical make-up used by white individuals in the 19th century to represent a black person). First of all, the sweater had a price tag of $890.00, all for a turtle neck that covered the face with a redlining. They seriously thought that it wasn't Blackface! TRY AGAIN GUCCI! On February 6th, 2019, Gucci released a statement on Twitter stating, "Gucci deeply apologizes for the offense caused by the wool balaclava jumper. We consider diversity to be a fundamental value to be fully upheld, respected, and at the forefront of every decision we make," with a longer statement on a picture.


According to #Gucci, "We consider diversity to be a fundamental value to be fully upheld, respected, and at the forefront of every decision we make. We are fully committed to increasing diversity throughout our organization and turning this incident into a powerful learning moment for the Gucci team and beyond." To be honest, if they claim to "consider diversity," this issue would've never happened in the first place. If they hired more people of color, this probably would've never went on the market. Gucci's CEO Marco Bizzarri met NYC Harlem neighborhood with Dapper Dan, to hear some perspectives.




Burberry London Fashion Week

Burberry "Noose Hoodie"


During London Fashion Week, the Chief Creative Officer Riccardo Tisci for #Burberry, decided that it was okay to release a sweater with a noose. Luckily, model Liz Kennedy brought light to this controversial piece and took it to Instagram. When I first saw this picture surface, I immediately thought that it wasn't a good look. First of all, who is wearing a sweater with a big rope looking thing around your neck? Why didn't Tisci think about the product and what it will resemble? Clearly, it's resembling and screaming the type of rope used in suicide and lynching. Once again, just like Gucci, the company's CEO is calling it a mistake. Yeah whatever; it's always a mistake! Riccardo Tisci released a statement on Instagram:


"I’d like to express myself following my recent show. First of all, I‘m deeply sorry to anyone whose feelings I unintentionally have hurt. I am a man of my principles and I take my responsibilities seriously. I am committed to learn from this so that this never happens again. Those who know me well or who know my work will understand that any references I have used in my collections have never been driven by negativity. This is not at my core. I take inspirations from life as I love it, in all of its beautiful forms. This collection was born from a very positive place. Throughout my life I have always fought for diversity, for sexuality, for people of color, for women’s rights, for all genders, and for inclusivity. And I consider myself a world citizen and I’ve been raised in a loving family who taught me how to love and respect everyone around me. I listen, I learn, I improve and I believe in the power of love." (Riccardo Tisci's Instagram)



Katy Perry "Black Face" shoes

Are Katy Perry's Shoes Black Face?


This was definitely a reach, because the shoes not only came in black but also in a tannish color. Let's just be honest, the shoes are just UGLY and I personally didn't see anything racist about it. They are just not a shoe I would purchase. Plus, Twitter users' comments on Katy Perry's shoe line were extremely entertaining. Some didn't even see it being racist, everyone just simply commented on how hideous the shoes were. The shoes were called "Rue Face Slip On Loafers" (and the high heeled version "Ora Face Block Heel Sandal") and seemed racially insensitive, especially with the Gucci incident.


Special Note: I Wanna Thank Louis Vuitton!


I want thank Louis Vuitton for making Virgil Abloh the Creative Director for the company. Now, there is someone of color who is the first to hold such a high profile position. This is what you call increasing diversity, #Gucci and #Burberry have a lot of learning to do.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page